busy weekend

What an incredibly busy weekend! We had a lot of fun though. Friday night we took our couples class at the Kansas City Culinary Center. We learned how to make our own sushi and experienced the peculiarity of a chocolate/avocado smoothie! You can see more pictures and read a full write up on the food blog. It was a blast! Yay for friends willing to pug-sit and a unique and tasty date night!

Saturday I hit up the sale at Nordstroms and bought some huge bottles of Purity Made Simple for a great price, should get me through next summer! I also started shopping for some new work clothes for my social work practicum, but was dismayed to not find much. I’ll wait a couple more weeks and try again, maybe hit up the outlets up at the Legends. Tyler and I saw The Dark Knight with half the rest of America this weekend and it did not disappoint. It was incredibly dark and very different from Batman Begins. I found myself holding my breath and biting my nails more than once!

Saturday night we went out to Lone Star Lake with my parents for a little canoeing and a picnic. Complete with smore’s! It was fantastic. It was a great evening even though Toby didn’t express any interest in learning to swim. He did however enjoy a few belly rubs.

Tyler let me sleep in this morning and the rest of the day was kind of a blur.  I went out for lunch with a friend, baked cookies for our new neighbors, and generally tried to avoid the heat.  We’ve been fortunate to have a fairly mild summer so far, but I know the worst is yet to come!  I am dreaming of escaping to cooler places, namely Colorado!  I wish it weren’t such a long drive!

Two more weeks of work to go, I’m hoping they will go by quickly and pleasantly.  Tyler has decided to take me out for sushi as a celebration on my last day, so I have that to look forward to!

currently reading: The Art of Racing in the Rain

currently watching: Season 1 of The Tudors

One thought on “busy weekend

  1. I’m SO jealous that you got to learn to make sushi-that’s awesome! Can you really make it at home though? I’d be afraid of killing myself with bad raw fish.

Leave a Reply

