vacation reads

So we both did a ton of reading on vacation, which was fabulous.  I can’t remember the last time I read so many books in so little time.

First I finished Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil before we toured Savannah, which gave me a lot of nice background on the city.  I still need to watch the movie on Netflix.

Next I read Maine, and devoured it in about 24 hours.  It is a great story about 4 women in an Irish Catholic family.  Despite the fact that I am not Irish, Catholic, nor an alcoholic, I could identify with each of them and loved that much of the story took place near Ogunquit, ME, one of the cities we visited on our honeymoon.

If You Were Here and Bossypants were both hilarious, quick reads.  Perfect for the beach.

The surprising favorite book from the trip for BOTH of us was The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry.

The Psychopath Test by Jon Ronson: Book Cover

If you have any interest in psychology, whether a skeptic or a believer, go out and get this book.  Tyler heard about it on NPR and I bought a hard copy of it at B&N for him to take on the trip (no way was I sharing my Nook!)  He read the entire thing while we were flying and sitting in airports the first day.  I picked it up as soon as he was done and read it in one sitting on the beach, this book is FASCINATING.

Fortunately I’d brought several other books for him to take to the beach, including:

Unbroken (two thumbs up from the hubs, it’s on my to read list now)

One More Theory about Happiness (another NPR rec Tyler picked up at the library but he says said this one was “eh”

and Sarah’s Key (I took this one for me but Tyler read it when he was out of options and said it wasn’t very good so we’ll see if I pick it up after all).

One thought on “vacation reads

Leave a Reply

