recent reads

I read a couple of books last weekend, both quick reads obviously.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Cover Image

I had to practice great restraint with this one and not let myself start it until the weekend began, as I knew I’d be dumb and stay up all night to finish it if I didn’t!  As good as this book was, it didn’t have me quite as engrossed as her first novel, Anna and the French Kiss.  I did not realize until I started reading that Lola is a companion novel, and some of the characters from Anna make an appearance.  They don’t really have their own plot lines but they are there and it was cool to see “where they are now.”  Even though I really have nothing in common with the main character, Lola, I still found myself crushing on Cricket, as nerdy engineering guys are totally my type!

Matched by Ally Condie

Yeah I know, another dystopian young adult love story.  This genre continues to be all the rage.  However I only gave this one 2 stars on Goodreads.  Way too many aspects of the story are ripped right from Lois Lowery’s The Giver, and the love story completely failed to pull me in.  You don’t feel the emotions and dilemmas of the characters like you do in others of the same genre: Hunger Games, Delirium, and Divergent.  I will finish the series though, as I rarely start a series and fail to finish it.  Maybe the next 2 books will make me feel differently, but I have a feeling I will remain pretty ambivalent about this series.

and another dystopian novel I read recently (though NOT a YA book for once!) was Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale

Cover Image

Great book, different writing style (stream of consciousness at times) with lots of things that will make you mad/think.  A great pick for a book club as I think it’s a book that needs to be discussed.  As a woman I found several scenes in the book very difficult.  What if we weren’t allowed to work anymore?  Couldn’t access our own bank accounts?  Were treated as nothing but a womb?  This is a feminist novel if ever there were one.  Very good read.

Leave a Reply

