recently read: quite the variety

I’m participating in a book challenge this fall so I’m reading a wide variety of books.  It’s been nice as it helps keep me out of a reading rut.  I’m utilizing my library more and borrowing books from friends and family to avoid buying every book I want to read for my Nook.

Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton

Ethan Frome

I needed a short book for the challenge and Tyler and were recently discussing this book (novella).  He hasn’t read it but is reading it now.  I was careful not to spoil it for him, we’ll see what he thinks.  I read this book in high school, American Lit I believe?  I remember writing a term paper comparing the female characters in the book.  This is a short read, would be perfect for a snowy winter day 🙂  I watched clips of the film on youtube after I re-read it, Liam Nielson and Patricia Arquette circa 1993.  It was weird to see it adapted to film.  I think I like this book because it reminds me of my great high school English classes, not because I like the story.

Prophet’s Prey by Sam Brower

Prophet's Prey: My Seven-Year Investigation into Warren Jeffs and the Fundamentalist Church of Latter-Day Saints

My fascination with the FLDS continues.  This book was told from a different perspective than most, a member of the LDS church that works as a PI and spent years investigating the FLDS cult.  It gives a good overview of what the group was like (and still is like to some extent) under the leadership of Warren Jeffs, now serving a life in prison sentence.  The book is a detailed telling of Jeff’s many atrocities against his followers.  Rape, sodomy, rampant child abuse, tax evasion, heartless re-assigning of wives and children and excommunicating loyal followers.  So obviously this book is a real light read 😉  This is not my favorite FLDS book.  I prefer the memoirs like Escape written from the perspective of former members of the group.  Sam Brower is eye-roll worthy at times, clearly very proud of his cowboy demeanor and the many ways he perceives that he helped bring down Jeffs.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

This book?  I could not put it down.  I gave it 5 stars on Goodreads despite the fact that I was pretty confused the entire time I was reading it, even more so after it was over.  Hoping much will be revealed n the sequel, due out next year (I hate waiting!)  I need to re-read it before then, as I zipped through it in about 3 hours, desperate to reach the end before bed.  Categorized under: “young adult paranormal” on Goodreads, it is not my typical genre (the paranormal part, obviously I like YA lit) but this isn’t a vampire story or a horror novel, it’s just spooky, and romantic, and both funny and terribly sad.  One of my favorite books this year, leaving me satisfied even though I have to wait a year to learn the rest of Mara Dyer’s story.  Also I like the cover 🙂

Still Alice by Lisa Genova

Cover Image

This book is rated very highly on Goodreads and I knew it would be helpful professionally to read it.  Still Alice is the story of a woman diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s, told from her perspective.  It is sad, educational, emotionally draining at times, but ultimately a very good read.  I think most people know someone or have known someone with Alzheimer’s/dementia.  I have many patients dealing with it, some in the early stages, others so deep into it they cannot speak or swallow, and a great many that are on the borderline of being competent to make their own decisions, which often calls for the help of a social worker.  I cried during a significant portion of this book, it was painful but cathartic at the same time.  It helped remind me of the life and rich history of the individual behind the diagnosis.

Leave a Reply

