read in November

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)

I really didn’t set out to read the whole series when I read Sorcerer’s Stone last month, but my interest was piqued, and I decided “just one more”.  And that turned into “one more I suppose.”  Well now I think I probably will read the whole series 😉  Although I’m not in a rush to do so.  I don’t think there’s much to say about the HP series that hasn’t been said already.  They are great, and if you haven’t read them, do so soon.  We finished watching all the movies over the long holiday weekend and now I definitely can’t wait to read the rest of the books.  (I already knew the gist of the series and the big plot events before I read any of the books/watched any of the movies due to being 10 years behind the times on this series but don’t mind being spoiled.)

The Glass Castle by Jeanette Wells

The Glass Castle

I love a good memoir, and this one had been on my to-read list for a couple of years.  I read it on the flight back from D.C. and Tyler had to listen to my frustrated sighs and “WTFs” for 2 and a half hours.  This book is a very interesting look into the life of a child of an alcoholic and two very “unique” parents.  Some say unique, some say neglectful.  I kind of side with the latter.  While the author clearly turned out a successful and presumably happy adult,  the shit she had to go through to get there really horrified me.   I can’t say much more without spoiling the book, but I’d be curious to hear your thoughts if you’ve read it.  I think my perspective as a social worker is a bit skewed towards the pessimistic.

Crossed by Ally Condie

Crossed (Matched, #2)

Read this book on the flight to D.C.  It was awful.  Want to read a book where NOTHING HAPPENS?  This is the book for you.  Sad because the first book in the series, Matched, wasn’t terrible.  I will finish the series because I always do, but I will wait to get the book from the library.  I will not buy it for my Nook, this one was a complete waste of time and money.

One thought on “read in November

  1. I read The Glass Castle yesterday at your recommendation. Horrified doesn’t even begin to cover it. Social worker or not, I don’t think there is any denying these poor kids were extremely neglected, even if the parents characterize themselves as “free spirited.” I was proud of the kids for having the wisdom to get out as soon as they could and even more proud of them for getting their college educations. I also applaud the author for not turning her parents into monsters – even though their parenting style was poor, she managed to maintain relationships with both of them. I like how she allowed the reader to draw their own conclusions.

Leave a Reply

